UNITED WAY of GREATER MILWAUKEE & WAUKESHA COUNTY



REPORT TO THE COMMUNITY



THANK YOU TO OUR EVENT SPONSOR





Greater Milwaukee & Waukesha County

UnitedWayGMWC.org

AGENDA

WELCOME

Don Layden Board Chair NCR Corporation

SPONSOR COMMENTS

Chad O'Brien Baker Tilly

UNITED WAY COMMUNITY CAMPAIGN

Don Layden

BOARD OF DIRECTORS

Matt Levatich Governance Committee Chair Community Leader

FINANCE & OPERATIONS

David Gay Treasurer Finance & Operations Committee Chair EY

THE MISSION OF UNITED WAY

Amy Lindner President & CEO United Way of Greater Milwaukee & Waukesha County

GWEN T. JACKSON COMMUNITY SERVICE AWARD

Honoree: INPOWER Solutions LLC Presenter: Nicole Angresano Vice President, Community Impact United Way of Greater Milwaukee & Waukesha County

JOHN A. PUELICHER AWARD

Honoree: Diamond Herring-Rodgers Presenter: Mark Czarnecki BMO

LINDA MCFERRIN AFRICAN AMERICAN NONPROFIT LEADERSHIP AWARD

Honoree: Danae D. Davis Presenter: DeVona Wright Cottrell Diversity Leadership Society Co-chair GMR Marketing

2023-24 BOARD OF DIRECTORS

ELECTED & RE-ELECTED

3-YEAR TERM



P.J. DiStefano Deloitte LLP

Linda Gorens-Levey General Capital Group

Margaret C. Kelsey WEC Energy Group

Heather Ladage Milwaukee Business Journal

Patrick Lubar Ixonia Bank

Christopher Rowland Circa

Rachel Schneider Molson Coors Beverage Company

Judith D. Taylor DUECO Safecurity LLC

Katrene Zelenovskiy Quarles

1-YEAR TERM

Sheldon Cuffie American Family Insurance

Julia Currie Direct Supply

Coreen Dicus-Johnson Network Health

Nancy Hernandez ABRAZO Marketing / Hispanic Collaborative

John Kissinger GRAEF

Blake D. Moret Rockwell Automation

Michelle S. Nettles ManpowerGroup

Stephanie Riesch-Knapp R&R Insurance Services, Inc.

Tina Rock Advanced Hires

Ashley A. Smith Godfrey & Kahn, S.C.

Bernie Sherry Ascension Wisconsin

Linda E. Benfield Foley & Lardner LLP

Pamela S. Fendt Milwaukee Area Labor Council, AFL-CIO

David Gay EY

Kelly H. Grebe Community Leader

Mark F. Irgens

Matthew S. Levatich Community Leader

Wayne T. Morgan Baker Tilly

George R. Oliver Johnson Controls

Judson M. Snyder BMO Wealth Management

Re-electe

Michael G. Carter Northwestern Mutual

Eric L. Conley Froedtert Hospital

Cindy Gnadinger, Ed.D Carroll University

Scott Turner Children's Wisconsin

BOARD OF DIRECTORS

Linda F. Benfield* Steven G. Booth **David Bowles** Daniel J. Bukiewicz Bladen J. Burns Filippo Carini* Cheryl R. Carron Michael G. Carter Eric L. Conley Sheldon Cuffie* Julia Currie Coreen Dicus-Johnson* P.J. DiStefano Michael R. Evans Pamela S. Fendt* John W. Florsheim Cristy Garcia-Thomas David Gay* Cindy Gnadinger, Ed.D Linda Gorens-Levey Kellv H. Grebe* Nancy Hernandez* Mark F. Irgens* Jasmine M. Johnson Margaret C. Kelsey John Kissinger* Heather Ladage Donald W. Layden, Jr.* Matthew S. Levatich* Amy L. Lindner* Patrick Lubar Earnell R. Lucas Jay M. Magulski Blake D. Moret* Wavne T. Morgan* Michelle S. Nettles* George R. Oliver* Dr. Keith P. Poslev Dr. Joan Prince Jonas Prising John R. Raymond, Sr., MD Stephanie Riesch-Knapp* Tina Rock Christopher Rowland **Rachel Schneider** Bernie Sherry* Ashley A. Smith Judson M. Snyder* Judith D. Taylor Scott Turner Mark Wallace Thomas J. Westrick **DeVona Wright Cottrell** Katrene Zelenovskiv *Executive Committee

OFFICERS

Board Chair Donald W. Layden, Jr.

Immediate Past Chair

Linda E. Benfield

George R. Oliver

Secretary Kelly H. Grebe

Treasurer David Gay

President & CEO Amy L. Lindner

Chief Operating Officer

Filippo Carini

STANDING COMMITTEES

2023 Campaign Co-chairs

Sheldon Cuffie Michelle S. Nettles Stephanie Riesch-Knapp Bernie Sherry

Community Impact Chair Judson M. Snyder

Governance Chair Matthew S. Levatich

Finance & Operations Chair David Gay

Audit Chair Wayne T. Morgan

Marketing & Communications Chair Nancy Hernandez

Volunteer Engagement Chair Pamela S. Fendt

Public Policy Co-chairs Coreen Dicus-Johnson John Kissinger

Labor Council Representative Pamela S. Fendt

Members-at-Large

Mark F. Irgens Blake D. Moret

DONOR NETWORKS REPRESENATIVES

Diversity Leadership Society DeVona Wright Cottrell (Co-chair)

Emerging Leaders Ashley A. Smith (Co-chair)

Technology United Tina Rock (Co-chair)

Women United Julia Currie (Co-chair)

AWARD HONOREES

The **Gwen T. Jackson Community Service Award** was established in 1981 and is presented annually to the United Way volunteer who best exemplifies a spirit of volunteerism and dedication to one's community.



INPOWER

INPOWER is a black, woman-owned social impact and good cause marketing and outreach agency based in Milwaukee's Harambee neighborhood. Established in 2018, the founding team is made up of three Milwaukee natives: Aziz Abdullah, Emani Taylor, and Raven Washington. With collaboration as one of their core values, INPOWER seeks to connect its partners with

community members using INtergated solutions that emPOWER individuals to determine their own life outcomes. As an agency, they are proud of their recent work that has included focusing on challenges such as housing security, access to health care, and economic development. Leading with a heart-led approach, their daily mantra is "Today Will Be A Great Day." They are excited about future opportunities to solve social challenges and continuing to advance community wellness. Their message to all: Live to INspire, work to emPOWER.

The **John A. Puelicher Award** recognizes the achievements of an outstanding Loaned Executive in honor of John A. Puelicher.



Diamond Herring-Rodgers

Diamond Herring-Rodgers is a Milwaukee native with corporate sales and marketing experience from her time at Pepsi Beverages, Milwaukee Bucks, and Northwestern Mutual. She is a proud Alverno Alumna, holding a bachelor's degree in business marketing and a master's degree in business administration.

Diamond started with United Way of Greater Milwaukee & Waukesha County as a Loaned Executive, making strides until she transitioned in 2022 to Engagement Manager, managing our LINC and Emerging Leaders networks. She's excited for the future and plans to bring groundbreaking networking opportunities and key initiatives to volunteer experiences. She enjoys traveling, having studied abroad in Spain, and even backpacked to 13 countries in Europe! Diamond is looking forward to continuing to be a leader and advocate for black and brown communities with United Way.

The **Linda McFerrin African American Nonprofit Leadership Award** recognizes an outstanding African American nonprofit executive who has provided exemplary leadership in the community.



Danae D. Davis

Danae D. Davis served as executive director of Milwaukee Succeeds, a citywide educational partnership that is dedicated to ensuring the success of every child in every school in Milwaukee, cradle to career, until she retired in November 2022. Davis previously spent nine years as CEO of PEARLS for Teen Girls, a Milwaukee-based nonprofit that uses a nationally recognized empowerment and leadership

development model for adolescent girls ages 10-19. Her career also has included leadership positions in both corporate and government sectors, including Miller Brewing Company, Kraft Foods, and the City of Milwaukee.

She received her Bachelor of Science degree in political science from the University of Wisconsin-Oshkosh and a Juris Doctorate from the University of Wisconsin-Madison. Davis currently serves on the national StriveTogether board, and local advisory boards for King's Academy Christian School and Radio Milwaukee HYFIN. She formerly served on numerous civic and community boards of directors, including the University of Wisconsin System Board of Regents.

THANK YOU

To the nearly 1,500 organizations that supported United Way in raising over \$58 million. The following million-dollar companies exemplify the generosity of our local community. Their outstanding employee giving and corporate support is key to our community's success.

